Business Technology

Mobile Payment Operators elect Alabraba as new association chairman

The Association of Licensed Mobile Payments Operators (ALMPO) on Thursday in Lagos elected Mr Jay Alabraba of PAGATECH, as its new Chairman.

Alaraba was elected alongside other officers whose tenure would run from 2020 to 2022.

Jay Alabraba, CEO, PAGATECH

The announcement of Alabraba’s emergence, along with other elected officers, was one of the highlights of the association ’s virtual meeting.

At the meeting and virtual inauguration of the newly elected executives, Mr Chinedu Onuoha, the outgoing Chairman, thanked members for the support given to his team during his tenure as the chairman.


The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the meeting, which was coordinated and co-chaired by Onuoha and Mr Kelechi Uloh, Vice-Chairman of ALMPO, had members participating from across the country.

Speaking on his achievements, Onuoha said his leadership had repositioned the association for effective operations.

He said they had also recorded stronger synergy with regulators on issues affecting mobile payments and financial inclusion in Nigeria.

Onuoha said that the association also recorded improved visibility in the regulatory and industry front.


He advised the incoming leadership to complement and expand the scope of the numerous achievements recorded thus far.

In his acceptance speech, Alabraba appreciated members of the association and pledged his team’s commitment to delivering on the vision they had set for the association.

“I will not go into detailed specifics on what we aim to accomplish in the coming months and years.

“There is a time for such detailed discussions; suffice to say that we have a lot of work ahead of us and it will require all hands on deck.


“The payments and financial services industry is changing at a fast pace and ALMPO must be among the forces driving that change.

“We will do all that is needed to make sure that ALMPO is visible and has a voice in the important affairs of the industry.

“We hope that the over 25 member organisations will continue to be active and lend their voices to the affairs of ALMPO.

“We need broader and more consistent members’ participation in order to succeed.


” We will take steps to continue the tradition of close working relationship with CBN, NIBSS and other regulatory bodies, as well as the private sector, to continue to move the payments industry forward,” Alabraba said.

Highlight of the event was the swearing-in and handing over of leadership mantle to the new executive members by the outgoing Chairman before members online.

Other elected executives are: Clemom Aigbogun of Teasy Mobile International – Vice Chairman; Emmanuel Oni of VTNetwork – Social and Welfare Officer; and Chidi Dire of Parkway Project as Regulatory and Compliance Officer.

NAN reports that ALMPO is an umbrella body comprised of mobile payment operators licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria to drive delivery of efficient payment systems and increase financial inclusion in Nigeria.(NAN)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.