Business Education Featured

LASG inaugurates Governing Council of Lagos State Cooperatives College

The Lagos State Government on Thursday urged the newly inaugurated Governing Council members of the State Cooperatives College to fulfill the aim of establishing the college by keeping to their oath of office.

The Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Dr Obafemi Hamzat, made the remarks in his address to the 10th public office holders that oversee the running of the college.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that establishment of the college is sequel to the law enacted by the Lagos State House of Assembly.

The inauguration was the culmination of collective efforts of the state government and the cooperative movements which began in 2012 under the administration of former Gov. Babatunde Fashola.


Hamzat urged the newly inaugurated members to live by what they swore to do and leave their foot prints in the sand of time.

“Ensure you do what is right so that at the end of the tenure your legacy will be uphold.

“Make sure you take the oath which you have sworn to seriously, abide by it and let the aim of the college be fulfilled and achieved,” the deputy governor said.

In her remarks, the Commissioner for Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives, Dr Lola Akande, commended Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu for executing agenda of making the state a 21st century economy and an enviable citadel of learning.


Akande expressed confidence in the selection of the council members, saying that they were indeed poised to lead the college into great heights of excellence in entrepreneurship and cooperatives education.

Earlier, Mr Oladele Ajayi, Special Adviser to the Governor on Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives, urged the Governing Council members to be committed to the vision and mission of the college.

Ajayi also urged them to be very diligent, demonstrate the integrity and impartiality which the assignment deserved.

“I urge you to justify the confidence this administration has reposed in you, and l hope you will bring your wealth of experience to bear on the mandate bestowed upon you,” he said.


NAN reports that members of the council include: Mr Raji Oyebowale, Chairman; Mrs Ololade Osomo, Registrar; and Mr Akorede Ojomu, Provost.

Others are: Dr Bolajoko Balogun; Mr Oriyomi Ayeola; Prof. Danoye Oguntola; Mrs Olufunmilayo Ibraheem; Mr Ademuyiwa Braimah; Prince Olayemi Falade and Mrs Taiwo Onakoya.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.