Entertainment Media Nigeria Top Story

[List] NBC Shuts Down 52 TV, Radio Stations

Reading Time: 2 minutes

List includes Silverbird, Rhythm, Smooth, Classic, Beats, Radio Lagos

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has shut down 52 television and radio stations over the non-payment of licence fees.

The broadcasting watchdog said the stations had violated the National Broadcasting Commission Act CAP N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10(a) of the third schedule of the Act.
At a news briefing given on Friday by the Director-General of NBC, Malam Balarabe Ilelah, the stations were given 24 hours to stop operations.

Ilelah said that in May this year, NBC published in the National Dailies, the list of licensees that are indebted to the Commission, and granted them two weeks to renew their licenses and pay their debts or consider their licenses revoked, frequencies withdrawn and the withdrawn frequencies reassigned to others who are ready to abide by the necessary requirements.

“Three months after the publication, some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the National Broadcasting Commission Act CAP N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10(a) of the third schedule of the Act. In view of this development, the continued operation of the debtor-stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security.

“Therefore, after due consideration, the NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the under-listed stations and gives them 24 hours to shut down their operations. Our offices nationwide are hereby directed to collaborate with security agencies to ensure immediate compliance.

The Director General said that Broadcast stations that are not affected and whose names are not on the list should renew their licences for their current duration within the next 30 days or get their licenses also revoked.

Also read  FG puts NFF electoral process on hold over court order

The stations are as follows:

  1. Silverbird TV (Silverbird Communications  Co. Ltd) Network
  2. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Abuja
  3. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Lagos
  4. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Yenagoa
  5. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Port-Harcourt
  6. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Jos
  7. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd) Benin
  8. Greetings FM (Greetings Media Ltd) FM Network
  9. Tao FM (Ovidi CommunicationS Ltd) FM Okene
  10. Zuma FM (Zuma FM Ltd) FM Suleja
  11. Crowther FM (Crowther Communications Ltd) FM Abuja
  12. We FM (Kings Broadcasting Ltd) FM Benin
  13. Linksman International ltd Keffi
  14. Bomay Broadcasting Services ltd Abuja
  15. MITV (Murhi International Group Ltd) Ibadan
  16. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Port-Harcourt
  17. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos
  18. Classic TV (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos
  19. Smooth FM (Fenchurch Invest Consortium ltd) Lagos
  20. Beat FM (Megalectrics LTD) Lagos
  21. Cooper Communications ltd Lagos
  22. Splash FM (West Midlands Ltd) Ibadan
  23. Rock City FM (Boot Communications ltd) Abeokuta
  24. Family FM (Kalaks Investments Nig. Ltd) Ilugun
  25. Space FM (Creazioni Nig. Ltd) Ibadan
  26. Radio Jeremi (Radio Jeremi ltd) Effurun
  27. Breeze FM (Bays Water ltd) Akure
  28. Vibes FM (Vibes Communication ltd) Benin
  29. Family Love FM (Multimesh Broadcasting Co. Ltd) Port-Harcourt
  30. Wave FM (South Atlantic Media ltd) Port-Harcourt
  31. Kogi State Broadcasting Corporation
  32. Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation
  33. Niger State Broadcasting Corporation
  34. Gombe State Broadcasting Corporation
  35. Lagos State Broadcasting Corporation
  36. Lagos DSB
  37. Osun State Broadcasting Corporation
  38. Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation
  39. Ondo State Broadcasting Corporation
  40. Rivers State Broadcasting Corporation
  41. Bayelsa State Broadcasting Corporation
  42. Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation
  43. Imo State Broadcasting Corporation
  44. Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation
  45. Borno State Broadcasting Corporation
  46. Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation
  47. Sokoto State Broadcasting Corporation
  48. Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation
  49. Kebbi State Broadcasting Corporation
  50. Jigawa State Broadcasting Corporation
  51. Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation
  52. Katsina State Broadcasting Corporation
Also read  Evans, accomplice bag another 21 years for 2nd kidnapping case


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.